One of the highlights of the annual NAB convention in Las Vegas is the "radio luncheon," and the awarding of the Crystal Radio Awards.  These are awards that are given away to radio stations who have performed exceptional public service for their local communities.  The stories that are told on how local radio helps their community are definitely heart tuggers.  And, what's great about witnessing these presentations is how thrilled the people who win are at getting the awards.  This morning, the NAB issued the following press release to announce the finalists for the Crystal Radio Awards...the staffs on this list are already winners for the way they helped the people in their towns and cities...


WASHINGTON, DC -- The National Association of Broadcasters announced the 50 finalists for the 2009 Crystal Radio Awards competition today. Since 1987, the NAB Crystal Radio Awards have recognized radio stations for their outstanding year-round commitment to community service.

This year's finalists are:

KBIG-FM Los Angeles WFMV-FM Columbia, S.C.
KCLR-FM Columbia, Mo. WGCV-AM Columbia, S.C.
KFDI-FM Wichita, Kan.
WGHT-AM Pompton Lakes, N.J.
KIRO-FM Seattle WGN-AM Chicago
KKLI-FM Colorado Springs, Colo. WGY-AM Latham, N.Y.
KLBJ-AM Austin WHUR-FM Washington, D.C.
KLRC-FM Siloam Springs, Ark. WIBC-FM Indianapolis
KOZT-FM Fort Bragg, Calif. WKY-FM Evansville, Ind.
KRKT-FM Albany, Ore.
WJJY-FM Brainerd, Minn.
KRSP-FM Salt Lake City
WJRZ-FM Belmar, N.J.
KSFI-FM Salt Lake City
WKML-FM Fayetteville, N.C.
KSL-AM Salt Lake City
WKRQ-FM Cincinnati
KSTP-FM Minneapolis
WLEN-FM Adrian, Mich.
KTAR-AM Phoenix
WPOZ-FM Altamonte Springs, Fla.
KTAR-FM Phoenix
WQNZ-FM Natchez, Miss.
KTXY-FM Columbia, Mo.
WQRB-FM Eau Claire, Wis.
KUAD-FM Windsor, Colo.
WRAL-FM Raleigh, N.C.
WRAT-FM Belmar, N.J.
KZKX-FM Lincoln
WRVW-FM Nashville
WBT-AM Charlotte
WSB-AM Atlanta
WCMT-AM Martin, Tenn.
WSWD-FM Cincinnati
WDBR-FM Springfield, Ill.
WTMX-FM Chicago
WDSN-FM DuBois, Pa.
WTUZ-FM New Philadelphia, Ohio
WFLS-FM Fredericksburg, Va.
WYCT-FM Pensacola, Fla.
WFMP-FM Minneapolis
WZPW-FM Peoria, Ill.

Crystal Radio Award finalists were chosen by a panel of judges representing broadcasting, community service organizations and public relations firms. Finalists will be honored and winners announced at the Radio Luncheon, sponsored by ASCAP, on Tuesday, April 21, during the NAB Show in Las Vegas.

The Radio Luncheon will feature a keynote address by Dave Ramsey, popular national radio personality and personal money management expert. Legendary sportscaster Vin Scully
will be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame.

Post comment ...
Anonymous comments are disabled. Login